Two Weeks In

February 4, 2007

Two weeks ago, a group of about 40 TMC students landed at Ben-Gurion airport in Tel Aviv, Israel.

That already seems like a long time ago.

As I have said before, I really have no regrets about coming to IBEX at all. I still miss my friends and family back home, but I am having the time of my life here in Israel. I am loving the places we get to go, the classes we have, and the people I’m with.

As a class we have already made three great field trips into Jerusalem. We get to go into the city every Saturday for church and hanging out in the Old City, and anytime we feel like taking a 30-minute bus ride to Jerusalem, we can. I’m sure that I’ll get to the end of the semester and feel like there is more I could have done and seen in Jerusalem. This week we start our field trips to other regions of Israel. Todd Bolen, our Land and Bible teacher, is telling us that the fun is only beginning.

I am especially intrigued by the classes I get to take here at IBEX. I am taking The Land and the Bible, Jewish Thought & Culture, The History of the Modern State of Israel, and The Life of Christ. I come to most of these classes very little familiarity with the subject matter. For example, I feel like I’ve been learning the same things about history since Junior High, but with Modern State of Israel, I’m learning all sorts of things about history that I never knew before, and I’m learning in the land where it all happened and is still happening.

The IBEX experience is also proving to be educational in ways that have nothing to do with classes, textbooks, or foreign countries. The group I am with is full of awesome, fun-loving, Christ-centered people, and I feel like I am learning so much from hanging out around them, whether it involves late-night pizza in the Old City, a guys Bible Study, or just playing mafia in the miklat.

In my journal, I’m keeping track of each day at IBEX. Today is Day 14. That leaves 90 more to go. That gets me psyched out of my mind.

2 Responses to “Two Weeks In”

  1. Roberta Blakey said

    Glad to hear you are having such a great time!

  2. mrsds said

    Yes, you will wish that you could have seen more of Jerusalem as well as more of Israel and Egypt and …. Your appetite will be whetted to see more and more. However don’t regret that you can’t see everything this time. Just start planning a next time! Disney may be wonderful but it will never hold the same allure again. Sorry if my spelling etc is off, my head is still a little fuzzy because of the pain and seizure meds. Yeah, we had our little baby girl on Jan 22.

Leave a Reply

