Don’t Waste Your Summer

May 21, 2007

I love summer for so many reasons. Warm weather. No homework. Jack Johnson. Guilt-free Sunday afternoon naps. Trips to Orange Country and Corona to see my brothers and sisters (and a super-cute nephew.) Braves baseball. The beach. Golfing with Grandpa. Reading. Hanging out with friends until all hours of the night.

But while summer is a great season that is usually marked by some rest and slower pace of life than school, it is often a season of wasted opportunity. Many times I have entered the summer with a list of goals that never materialized. As usual, one of my goals is increased reading, so I started last week by reviewing Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper. I read this book as a freshman in Biblical Fundamentals, but I wanted to start my summer by refreshing my mind with the words of this book.

The writings of John Piper have greatly impacted my still young life, and I’m sure they will continue to do so. Reviewing Don’t Waste Your Life gave me opportunities to think about what I wanted to do with my life and helped me to look 10 years down the road at what I would like to do. It motivated me to not waste my life, but more specifically it motivated me to not waste my summer. As I thought about what I read, I quickly found two ways I could easily waste my summer: entertaining sin and neglecting Scripture.

Anyone can waste their life; it’s really not that hard. In fact, most people do waste their lives as they spend their days under the bondage of sin. Sin wants to destroy your life and turn it into a big waste. While Christians are freed from sin’s power, we can still waste our lives by entertaining its evil. How many Christian ministries or families have been destroyed by sin? How many Christians have spent years of their life regreting sinful decisions they made–even ones they made as a Christian? If I want to waste my summer, entertaining sin is the easiest way to do it.

I can also waste my summer by neglecting God’s word. After my time in IBEX, I am more convinced than ever about the wonders of the Bible. From beginning to end, its pages are filled with life-changing truth. As I study the Bible, I do not need to pace myself because I could spend a whole lifetime searching the Scriptures and not uncover all the glories they contain. So if I want to waste my summer, I can just neglect God’s word. If I barely read, hardly think about it, and never memorize it, this summer will nothing but a regret six months from now.

I am excited about this summer, but I do not want to come to the end of it and think I have wasted it. I want to maximize these months for God’s glory and my good.

3 Responses to “Don’t Waste Your Summer”

  1. Greg Pickle said

    “If I want to waste my summer, entertaining sin is the easiest way to do it.”

    What a great thought. I like that. We need to keep this at the front of our mind.

  2. RD said

    Amen man…maybe we shouldn’t waste our summers…when u preaching in church? 🙂

  3. blakey! yeah, we gotta hang out – if we do waste it maybe we can waste it together man. i’ll call you!

Leave a Reply

