Live by the River

May 26, 2007

Last night I finally broke down and watched the IBEX Year End Show for the first time since coming back. The Year End Show is a picture slide-show that lasts for over an hour of pure goodness. For me, watching those pictures is like watching a dream. I look at them and think, “Wow, those people really had the time of their life.” But then I realize, wait…I was one of those people! I’m still struck by how awesome IBEX was, and I can’t believe that only three Friday nights ago I was watching the Year End Show for the first time in the miklat at the Yad in the land of Israel with all the rest of SPO’7.

It’s easy to look back on those days and think to myself, “God was so good at IBEX.” That is definitely a true thought. God was amazingly faithful to me and the rest of SPO’7, teaching us all things we never expected to learn while drawing us closer to himself. But sometimes that thought brings a bad implication, as if I’m saying God was better then than he is now. False.

As my friend and future RA would always reminded our group, “God is good all the time.” Each day God is the same, he doesn’t get better or worse. He is always amazingly faithful. The problem is that we do not always realize this. Our minds are easily distracted and our hearts prone to wander. So how do we live life with this “God is good all the time” mindset? Psalm 1 helps us out.

“But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night.
He is like a tree
planted by streams of water
that yields its fruit in its season,
and its leaf does not wither.
In all that he does, he prospers.”
-Psalm 1:2-3

The key is this: meditate on God’s word. Live by the river and send your roots deep into the truth of Scripture. Then you will not be shaken by a change in the climate. You will prosper and bear fruit. And most importantly, you will know that God is good all the time.

Leave a Reply

