Singing a Gospel Song Today

June 3, 2007

I have immensely enjoyed the second half of this week. On Wednesday, I visited my grandpa and uncle in Santa Barbara. Thursday, Generations (my Bible Study) had a small crowd, so after the sermon we just went around the room and got caught up with everybody. That led to Friday and golfing with two of my fellow Generites. We hit up the muni for a twilight rate and raced the sun to squeeze in 18. Saturday, I got to see both my brothers, their wives, and my super-cute nephew as I traveled to the OC to celebrate my cousins’ college graduation. Today, I enjoyed church, tutoring, and an extended time of reading and journaling outside Jamba Juice.

Through the message at Bible Study and some things I have been reading in the Bible and other books (like Humility by C.J. Mahaney), I have been thinking about the Gospel this weekend, and the effect it should have on my daily life.

First, the Gospel should produce tangible joy in my life. Each day I should be happy because of what God has done through the work of Christ. I should rejoice that “It is finished!” This joy should affect my attitude when I get out of bed and my interaction with people throughout the day.

Second, the Gospel should devastate any pride that I might have. Mahaney quotes John Stott as saying this: “Every time we look at the cross Christ seems to be saying to us, ‘I am here because of you. It is your sin I am bearing, your curse I am suffering, your debt I am paying, your death I am dying.’ Nothing in history or in the universe cuts us down to size life the cross.” When we realize that we have been saved by grace through faith and that even that faith is a gift of God, we have nothing to be proud about.

Have a great week! Fire up those Summer iTunes playlists.

2 Responses to “Singing a Gospel Song Today”

  1. Ben, I liked the thoughts you shared about the gospel. You are right, it should be an endless source of joy in our lives. That was a great reminder to me today. It was great seeing you this weekend…let’s hit up Lost asap!

  2. Brittany said

    Hey Ben, thanks for always being such an encouragement. The joy that comes from knowing the gospel is apparent in your life!

Leave a Reply

