A Psalm for the Old, and One for the New.

January 1, 2008

O Lord, my heart is not lifted up;
my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
too great and too marvelous for me.
But I have calmed and quieted my soul,
like a weaned child with its mother;
like a weaned child is my soul within me.

O Israel, hope in the Lord from this time forth and forever more.

My brother Billy shared this Psalm with me last January as I was preparing for IBEX. At that point, I was not sure about many things, especially IBEX. I was wondering why I had ever signed up. I was worried about leaving the country for so long. Billy pointed me to this Psalm, and it helped me to calm and quiet my soul before the Lord as IBEX approached.

While studying at IBEX, I constantly referred to this Psalm as I realized that I spend too much of my time trying to figure out things that are too great and too marvelous for me. And the Psalm followed me around all semester. On a couple separate occasions, this Psalm was randomly selected for me to read at dinner. At these moments, my roommate and I would just make eye-contact and smile.

This Psalm continued to comfort me throughout 2007. No matter what the circumstances or the how perplexing the future may be, the Christian can be calm and quiet before the Lord.

As 2008 begins, my attention has been directed to another Psalm by a new Bible reading plan.

Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
or stand in the way of sinners
or sit in the seat of mockers.
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
and on his law he meditates day and night.
He is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither.
Whatever he does he prospers.

I pray that Psalm 1 typifies my 2008. I hope that I crave the Word like the man described in this Psalm. Certainly, when Christians meditate on God’s truth, we will be calm and quiet; we will be like fruitful trees by the river.

Happy New Year, everybody!

Oh…and did anyone see the Rose Bowl today?

2 Responses to “A Psalm for the Old, and One for the New.”

  1. scott g said

    right on ben, let us press on to know Him

  2. Rick Dennis said

    Man, PTL for Ps 131, thanks, so encouraged right now because of it!

Leave a Reply

