Teams, Plays, and Beaches

March 16, 2008

Today I was confronted about my lack of blogging.

This is my repentance.

The last few weeks have been busy. They have been filled with school work–not so much sleep. But I must admit, they have been full of a lot fun…and teams, plays, and beaches.

Two weekends ago, I a good deal of time with a great group of friends. Throughout the course of various ridiculous outings, we have started calling ourselves “Team 20 Seconds.” This particular weekend was very theatrical. On Friday night, five of us saw a wonderful performance of “The Importance of Being Earnest” by the Drama Club at The Master’s College. The two leading actors live in my dorm, and it was great fun to watch them.

The next night, the whole crew headed down for a night in Hollywood. We enjoyed dinner at The Farmer’s Market at The Grove, where I had my first shwarma since IBEX. We celebrated Becca’s birthday with an incredelicious strawberry cake, and our dinner conversation was ridiculous, as usual.

After dinner, we made our way to the Pantages Theatre, where we saw WICKED! I had never been to a play like this before, so I did not know what to expect. I was definitely awed by the end of the night. The performers’ voices were incredible, and the story was interesting and funny. When we got back to the dorm, Ona and I raced to our laptops to see who could get the soundtrack the fastest. I won. Here is a picture of the team with our playbills.

img_1043.jpg

The next weekend was centered around another team–Team Uganda. This summer, I will be spending six weeks with this wonderful group on a missions trip to Uganda. From the beginning of the semester, our team has grown close quickly. We love hanging out together, so we thought we would spend the weekend hanging out in Orange County. Why Orange Country? I had the pleasure of teaching at True North, the high school group at Compass Bible Church. (You can listen to the sermon here.)

It ended up being a wonderful weekend. The Lord enabled me to preach well. I spoke on Matthew 6:25-34. Getting ready to preach was a sanctifying experience. Every time I was tempted to worry about teaching, I had to ask myself, “What am I preaching about again? Oh yeah, don’t worry about your life!”

After church, Team Uganda went to In-N-Out (where else?) and then randomly decided to go to Laguna Beach. We had a wonderful afternoon napping on the beach, checking out art galleries, talking with each other, and enjoying daylight savings time. Here is a group shot.

n159900582_30258508_7733.jpg

On Tuesday night, Team Uganda had another random outing. For our weekly team time, we went to Diddy Riese in Westwood to celebrate Hugh Jackson III’s birthday. We were trying to hurry back to school (some of us had meetings), but when we realized we wouldn’t make it in time, we rescheduled our meetings and decided to head to Santa Monica, where we hung out on the beach and at the pier. We talked and laughed until about 1:30 before heading back to school.

n159900382_30259754_5440.jpg

Yeah, so I don’t think we have to worry about Team Uganda getting along. I excited to see how the Lord continues to draw us closer together as a team and closer to himself. Please be praying for us this summer as we serve the Lord in Uganda!

Now I am in Texas on Spring Break. My Spring Break will involve hanging with the fam, going to Dallas to join up with some IBEX friends, and figuring out how to get shots before my Uganda trip.

Kelly Langenberg, thanks for the rebuke. You have won your brother.

2 Responses to “Teams, Plays, and Beaches”

  1. Pastor B said

    So when is Kelly Langenberg going to start her own blog?

  2. Kelly said

    WHOO HOOO!! That’s what I’m talkin’ about!! The fruits of your repentance proceed you…I like, it!! …now, about being afraid of the big bad wolf in Little Red Riding Hood though —– SERIOUSLY???!!!! 🙂 Who needs to write their blog with entertaining stories like that!! Great seeing ya!

Leave a Reply

