I Don’t Have Time to Read

December 31, 2008

Once again, it’s that time of year when people frantically bust out a pencil, a sheet of paper, and a list of resolutions for the new year. One rather common resolution is quite simple: read more. I know this has been a goal of mine in the past. However, this lofty aspiration eventually becomes a victim of this daunting creed:

I don’t have time to read.

Enter this article a couple of days ago. On New Year’s Eve three years ago, Karl Rove decided it was time to read more. (His original goal was a book a week.) He told this to the President, who joined in the resolution and effectively turned it into a contest between the two. The totals for 2006? Rove: 110; Bush: 95. They repeated the contest over the last two years, and Bush read 51 and 40 books. For those of you keeping score, he has read an average of 60 books a year over the last three years. Not too shabby for the leader of the free world.

I like to think of myself as a busy guy, but I cannot bring myself to say that I am busier than the President of the United States. I feel as if my “I don’t have time to read” mantra has been incontravertibly refuted.

So as my white flag of surrender, I am going to resolve to read more in 2009. A book a week seems a bit ambitious, unrealistic, and probably a set-up for failure. So I think I’m going to start out with a goal of reading 20 books in 2009. (Baby steps, right?)

Who’s with me?

Happy New Year, everyone!

4 Responses to “I Don’t Have Time to Read”

  1. Gunner said

    Ben – I’m with you. The book-a-week thought flashed through my mind, too, but it was pretty clear that that was unrealistic, so I ended up aiming at 25.

  2. nice ben! im going with 15 though…

  3. Jordan Thiesen said

    Do books of the bible count? I just had a sec and thought I should read some of your past blogs…I needed a little catching up and; touch.

Leave a Reply

