Whole Heart

February 11, 2010

I never thought that I would get paid to rap.

But with the last two Revivals, it has been my job to put together a rap for a promotional video. For the “Heat to the Snow” video, I not only had to come up with the lyrics for the rap, but the melody as well. At some point in this songwriting process, a thought dawned on me. If I can write a silly song promoting Revival: Winter Edition, why can’t I write a serious song promoting whole-hearted worship of God?

I wanted to write a song that went along with the theme of Revival: Winter Edition. So, I searched for a Psalm of David that expresses the desire to be a person “After God’s Own Heart.”. In Psalm 86, David not only praises God for his great power and love, but he also makes this request in verse 11. He says:

“Teach me your way, O LORD,
that I may walk in your truth;
unite my heart to fear your name.”

David asks God for a united heart, and we should be crying out for the same thing. Because there is no one like our God, we should long to love him with our “Whole Heart.”

Good and forgiving
Love so abounding
Who is good like you?
You gladden my soul
My cup overflows
Who brings joy like you?

Teach me, Lord, all of your ways
Unite my heart, all of my days
To fear your name and walk in truth
For my whole heart I give to you

Mighty in power
Awesome in wonder
Who is great like you?
Strong to deliver
You reign forever
There is none like you

Hear my cry, O God
According to your grace
And with my whole heart
I will seek your face

You can listen to the song and download it here!

One Response to “Whole Heart”

  1. TPayne said

    I had no idea that you wrote the song, I’m floored. That song is dank and legit and sweet and gnarly and solid and even groovy. Dueces!

Leave a Reply

