Weekend Setlist – August 20&21, 2011

August 24, 2011

It was great to be back leading worship at Compass Bible Church after a trip to the East Coast! I was pretty fired up to apply some things I had learned at the Worship God Conference right out of the gate.

Here was the set (with links to the iTunes music store):

All Because of Jesus” by Steve Fee (Andy Frank Arrangement)
Salvation is Here” by Joel Houston (Lincoln Brewster Arrangment)
Always” by Jason Ingram, Kristian Stanfill (Passion Arrangement)
–Announcements/Offering—
How Great Thou Art” by S.K. Hine (Paul Baloche Arrangement)
Cannons” by Phil Wickham

Bryan Chappell preached an outstanding message at the conference from Isaiah 6. Any message from this text rightfully emphasizes the holiness of God, and Chappell masterfully showed us how God’s glory leads us to grace. Isaiah sees God’s glory and realizes his need for God’s mercy. He cries out, “Woe is me! I am destroyed!” Then we see the beautiful picture of God atoning for the prophet’s sin and preparing him for ministry. A true understanding of God’s holiness leads to a great appreciation for God’s grace.

This concept clearly comes out in the last two songs we sang. Consider these lines:

“I’m so unworthy, but still You love me
Forever my heart will sing of how great You are”
-“Cannons”

“And when I think that God His Son not sparing
Send him to die, I scarce can take it in”
-“How Great Thou Art”

I tried to emphasize this verse by repeating it at the end of the song and commenting on God’s holiness and mercy before we sang it again.

“Then sings my soul
My Savior God to Thee
How great Thou Art”

Leave a Reply

